Broward Workforce Development Board Inc.

CareerSource Broward is governed by a workforce board known as the Broward Workforce Development Board (BWDB) and the CareerSource Broward Council of Elected Officials, which consists of the elected mayors of Fort Lauderdale and City of Hollywood, and a Broward County Commissioner. Representatives from private business, educational institutions, elected officials and community-based organizations create the makeup of the board.

CSBD Council of Elected Officials

Name Title Organization Position
Dean Trantalis Mayor City of Fort Lauderdale Chair
Tim Ryan Commissioner Broward County Board of County Commissioners Vice Chair
Josh Levy Mayor City of Hollywood Chair Pro Tem

Broward Workforce Development Board Officers

Name Title Organization Board Position Term of Service
Frank Horkey President Horkey & Associates Chair 1/22 – 1/23
Heiko Dobrikow General Manager Riverside Hotel Vice-Chair 1/22 – 1/23
Zac Cassidy Business Manager IBEW Local 728 Chair, Audit Committee Secretary/Treasurer 1/22 – 1/23
Dr. Ben Chen Chairman Chen Moore and Associates Vice-Chair, Legislative Affairs 1/22 – 1/24

Broward Workforce Development Board Members

Name Title Organization Board Position Term of Service
Gina Alexis President/Co-Founder The Alexis Group Member 1/22 – 1/24
Keith Costello President Locality Bank Member 1/22 – 1/23
Dr. Mildred Coyne Senior Vice President of Workforce Education and Innovation. Broward College Member 1/22 – 1/23
Paul Farren CEO The Energy Store Member 1/22 – 1/24
Cynthia Gaber Area Director Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Member 1/22 – 1/24
Dr. Lisa Knowles Professor St. Thomas University Immediate-Past Chair 1/22 – 1/24
Kevin Kornahrens Vice President of Administration Advanced Roofing Chair, Organizational Resources Committee 1/22 – 1/24
Francois Leconte Owner/Chairman Paramount Broadcasting Communication LLC. Member 1/22 – 1/23
Dawn Liberta Community Development Administrator Department of Children and Families Circuit 17 Member 1/22 – 1/24
Ismael Martinez Director Family Success Member 1/22 – 1/23
Sandy-Michael McDonald Director Office of Economic and Small Business Development Member 1/22 – 1/23
Frank Ortis Mayor City of Pembroke Pines Chair- SPPDLAR– (BWDB Chair, 2017-2018) 1/22 – 1/24
James Payne Curriculum Supervisor Career, Technical, Adult and Community Education (CTACE) Member 1/22 – 1/23
Jim Ryan CEO OutPLEX Chair- Employer Services 1/22 – 1/24
Pamela Sands Vice President Product Management & Partnerships Kelly Services Member – (BWDB Chair – 2013-2014) 1/22 – 1/23
Richard Shawbell Training Director IBEW Local 728 Chair- One Stop Services Committee 1/22 – 1/23
Cynthia Sheppard Owner Precious Kidz Pre-School and Day Care Member 1/22 – 1/24
Robert Swindell President / CEO Greater Fort Lauderdale Alliance Member 1/22 – 1/23
Marjorie Walters Consultant Arts Office Network, Inc. Participant Representative 1/22 – 1/24
Lori Wheeler Vice President MIASF Member 1/22 – 1/23